Skip to content ↓


We are delighted that the new national curriculum for Mathematics complements the ‘Maths Mastery’ approach that we have adopted in Years 1-4.  Mathematics is broken down into nine distinct subject areas which progress throughout each year.  Both in ‘Maths Mastery’ and the new national curriculum, there is a considerable emphasis on using and applying number, using vocabulary and solving problems.

The ‘Maths Mastery’ approach has been developed to ensure every child can achieve success and mastery in mathematics. The key features in all our maths lessons includes:
  • Mathematical understanding
  • Mathematical thinking 
  • Mathematical language

This is applied through a concrete, pictorial and an abstract approach. Each lesson involves children regularly using pictures, diennes, cubes, numberlines etc to support their learning and provide a deeper understanding. This leads on to an independent task to show their knowledge of a concept.

Click here to download our curriculum for each phase:


Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6